RSS
Link
05 Mar

My Fitness Pal

So, this isn’t something I told myself I would never write about but after giving it MUCH thought, maybe I NEED to write about it.

I suck at working out, I suck at eating healthy over long periods of time, I suck at commitment in this area period! I have been doing lots of researching lately and talking to people in my position and I am definitely NOT blaming my weight/health on my job, but I am REALLY starting to see how working shift work can mess with your life.  Lots of these things are not new to me.  About 10 years ago when I started there, I basically had to give up all my commitments.  I could no longer commit to anything.  I worked every other weekend, and switching from days to afternoon every other week.  How can you commit to anything when you will miss every other week, if not more?! I made some attempts with school and a LIFE group, but it was SO difficult, I eventually gave up.  I miss having a LIFE group, I wish I could play baseball and hockey again, I just want to be able to be a part of things again!   Next Monday I start my new position where I work Mon-Thurs 8-4,….so I have high hopes for my life!!! 🙂

Another issue is sleep.  I am one of those people, I don’t like to sleep in late – I feel like I have wasted my day if I do.  PROBLEM – I am a night owl, so when I work til 11 it’s great, I often am up til around 2am.  It used to be closer to 3 or 4am…but I am growing up!!!!  The problem is then I wake up by 8 or 9am and just never get caught up on sleep.

Now, another issue is eating habits.  When you work days – it’s fine, but when you work afternoons, I often don’t eat all morning til noon.  Then dinner, you eat around 5…well by 11:30pm, you are hungry again. As you can see it’s a vicious cycle.  I am REALLY hoping that working mostly 8-4’s will help this issue along with the sleep.

I have some goals, that a couple months ago, I would never have shared, but maybe I need to put it out there – accountability?!?!?

Last January I lost 24 pounds, and felt like I was on a FABULOUS path to taking control back.  After a cruise in late February and some crappy realizations (I didn’t eat all that bad on the cruise and we were out walking etc every day – I gained like 8lbs in 10 days-depressing) I got peeved and gave up!  Then when I got pregnant, I took the bull by the horns and lost weight, not cause I was vomiting every day-I was fine, but exercising daily and eating great.  My Doctor was so proud!  Since the miscarriage, I have been eating horribly.  I definitely realized I am an emotional eater.  BUT I need to stop this cycle.  I want to exercise 4 times a week and continue to follow my fitness pal.  I have been following MFP for months, but as of the last 6 weeks have probably been over in calories most days.

I have dreams.  I want to be healthy for kids one day, I want to run a 5 or 10K, I want to join a running club, I want to play sports again and not feel insecure, I want to feel good again.  I do go for walks a lot and love hikes, but I want the real deal – a race!!! I especially want to do this one day!!!! http://toughmudder.com/

I don’t ever want to diet or for this to be a fad, I want it to be a lifestyle change.  I want to eat pizza sometimes, probably still drink Diet Pepsi and randomly go to BP, but overall, I just want this to be my lifestyle, not just for a season.

Cheers!  Here we go again!!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 03/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Fitness Pal

  1. Natalie

    03/05/2012 at 6:25 pm

    Hey sister

    So proud of you for this. You can do it! You will feel so much better. I am here to support you always! Love you. Natalie.

     
  2. Jessica

    03/23/2012 at 11:38 pm

    I hear ya on the stupid shift work. Its not just you, it’s proven in studies to be unhealthy all around! You go girl!!! You are strong and can do anything! Forgive yourself when you fall…just get back up and keep on going : ) Cheers to good health!

     

Leave a Reply

 
